Lilac Time

After a very cold wet introduction, spring has bowed out to summer almost overnight. The tulips I planted last fall bloomed and faded quickly, and almost everything else cooked in the heat. The apple tree bloomed profusely and then it seemed the petals fell off in the span of a day. It’s a wonder there are any lilacs left, but they have managed to survive. Everywhere I walk I can smell their fragrance. Something I’m not used to seeing is white lilacs–there are as many as the purple variety.



To try to preserve a bit of lilac springtime, I decided to make lilac syrup and jelly. The lilac bush outside my kitchen windows needed a good haircut anyway, so I had my husband clip down some branches, especially the ones that rasp on the eaves when it’s windy.

The syrup was very easy, and will make a nice addition to summer drinks. It’s basically a simple syrup made with lilac floret tea. I’ve tried freezing some in ice cube trays–we’ll see if the subtle fragrance survives.


The jelly was less satisfying. I used this recipe. I only had liquid pectin and used 2 pouches. It was a long weekend and there was no way I was going near a store. It took quite some time to carefully strip the florets from the stems, leaving no greenery attached. After soaking the florets in water overnight, I strained out the ‘tea’ and added in the other ingredients.

The result was a very mild flavoured jelly–not distinctly lilac. Other recipes call for more lilac florets, and I think if I were to make this jelly again, I would use double the florets. I would also use real lemon juice rather than bottled.

The canned jars look very pretty. Even if the results were unexciting, it was a fun experiment and perhaps I will feel differently in cold December if I can catch a whiff of spring fragrance.

4 thoughts on “Lilac Time

  1. I’m intrigued! I wasn’t aware that lilacs could be used this way… now I want to give this a try. Sadly my lilacs are pitiful and have hardly any blooms at all and certainly not enough to attempt this. I hope in the dead of winter the lilac jelly does not disappoint!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apparently, like fruit trees, they produce more flowers every other year. They can also benefit from a good pruning, right after the flowers die. Mine will get cut back quite a bit to make it look a little more groomed.

      Like

  2. You teach us , Kathy, with your lilac sirup and jelly . I guess the sirup was good .
    I have a son who makes Lilac wine ( by fermentation ). Good perfume .
    Love ❤
    Michel

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.